We focus on deals in markets that we know well and monitor closely through regular on-the-ground presence.

Economic Community Of West African States  (ECOWAS)

  • Regional alliance established in 1975
  • Includes 15 West African Countries
  • Market of 300m people
  • Free Trade Zone; Common External Tariff
  • Goal to create common currency by 2020
  • Goal to merge regional stock exchanges

West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA)

  • Regional alliance established in 1962
  • Includes 8 Francophone countries within ECOWAS
  • Market of 110m people
  • Free Trade Zone; Common External Tariff
  • Common central bank and currency pegged to the Euro
  • Common stock exchange

East African Community (EAC)

  • Regional alliance established in 1967
  • Includes 5 East African Countries
  • Market of 150m people
  • Custom Unions and Common Market (reduction of trade barriers, implementation of preferential tariff discount).
  • Goal to create monetary union